RegEnergy – Renewable Energy Regions

Project Summary

Strong partnerships to connect urban demand & rural supply

Project page: http://www.nweurope.eu/projects/project-search/regenergy-renewable-energy-regions/undefined

NWE is one of the EU’s highest energy consuming regions. The share of renewable energy in the region’s production and consumption mix is low and there is a strong dependence on non-renewable energy sources.

RegEnergy aims to break up existing structures for increasing the use of renewable energy in NWE regions. Creating renewable energy demand–supply partnerships between urbanised and surrounding rural territories will lead to reducing greenhouse gas emissions. 9 projectpartners from 7 NWE countries, representing metropolitan regions, cities, rural communities, regional agencies, scientific institutions and renewable energy producers will develop strategies and models to illustrate how such partnerships can be built. In three strategic areas the missing regional links between demand and supply from renewables will be addressed: The institutional and administrative framework conditions (e.g. cooperation agreements) as well as the main infrastructure (e.g. biogas pipelines) that such partnerships require are as central as the question of required technologies (e.g. smart grids, storage capacities).

Pilot partnerships in across Northwest-Europe will invest in

  • Institutional arrangements for regional prosumers
  • lacking renewable infrastructure
  • regional supply-demand chains
  • coping with limited grid capacity and intermittent RE supply
  • balancing regional supply and demand profiles

To sustain and widely spread the results RegEnergy partners will present best-practice and showcases to cooperating regions and will actively help them to develop appropriate RE demand-supply partnerships in their region.

Key Information

  • Lead partner organisation: Climate Alliance of European Cities with Indigenous Rainforest Peoples (registered association)
  • Email: sndlovu@3cea.ie
  • ERDF FUNDING: € 6.12 m
  • TOTAL BUDGET: € 11.08 m
  • TIMELINE: 2018-2022
  • Partner organisations
    • Brest métropolis
    • Flux50
    • Plymouth City Council

    Show more

  • COUNTRIES: DE | FR | BE | UK | NL | IE | CH
Name Contact Name Email Country
Brest métropolis Sylvie Mingant sylvie.mingant@brest-metropole.fr France
Flux50 Frederik Loeckx Frederik.loeckx@flux50.com Belgium
Plymouth City Council Alistair Macpherson Alistair.macpherson@plymouth.gov.uk United Kingdom
Waterstromen Martine Klaver m.klaver@waterstromen.nl Netherlands
3 Counties Energy Agency Paddy Phelan pphelan@3cea.ie Ireland
Planair Nadine Mounir nadine.mounir@planair.ch Switzerland
Waterford Institute of Technology Sean Lyons slyons@tssg.org Ireland
Ormonde Upgrading Limited Tom Nolan tnolan@ormondeorganics.ie Ireland